Built in 1900, the shop produced parts for steamboats, coal mines, railroads, and for local businesses. The Machine Shop, as it’s known, received recognition as a National Historic Landmark in 2017.
W.A. Young & Sons Foundry and Machine Shop
The Machine Shop
The W.A. Young & Sons Foundry and Machine Shop is a prime example of America’s industrial heritage. William A. Young, owner and operator of the business built the Machine Shop in 1900 with lumber from the family farm. In 1908, the shop expanded to include the foundry. The other major change to the shop occurred in 1928 when it was electrified.
Sunday Guided Tours
Tours of the Machine Shop are available most Sundays afternoons throughout the year and are staffed by Rivers of Steel’s dedicated volunteer crew. Tickets for Sunday Guided Tours must be purchased in advance.
For more than 30 years on the third Saturday in April, blacksmiths from all over the region gather at the W.A. Young & Sons Foundry and Machine Shop for the annual Hammer-In Festival.
Blacksmithing demonstrations led by members from the Pittsburgh Area Artists Blacksmiths Association and the Appalachian Blacksmiths Association occur throughout the day. Handcrafted artworks are auctioned off to support the Machine Shop, PAABA and ABA.
These events are complemented with a hot metal pour by Rivers of Steel Arts and tours of historic landmark-complete with demonstrations of the line-shaft driven machinery!
The public is welcome to stop by the Machine Shop during Riverfest, Rices Landing’s annual celebration occurring the first weekend in June.
Rivers of Steel offers a variety of ways for groups to experience our attractions – and locations throughout the eight-county National Heritage Area.
See our group tours page for more information on how to incorporate your specific interests and customize your group’s visit.
Location & Directions
The Machine Shop is located at 114 Water Street, Rices Landing, PA 15357. Guests are welcome to park in the parking lot near the entrance of Water Street, on the left side before rounding the bend. From there the walk to the the Machine Shop is 400 feet and has a very slight incline. Guest with limited mobility may be dropped off near the front of the building, but please be advised that turnaround space can be limited directly in front of the Shop.
What to Know Before You Go
The Machine Shop is located in the Rices Landing Historic District, on the Monongahela River in Greene County, Pennsylvania. Added to the National Registry of Historic Places in 1992, the town is recognized as a river port and early industrial town.
Tickets for Sunday Guided Tours must be purchased in advance.
While there is no admission fee for the Hammer-In Festival or during the Riverfest open house, donations are welcomed and help to support the preservation of the National Historic Landmark.
At this time, there are no concessions or restroom facilities on-site. Public restrooms are located by the parking lot on Water Street.
One of five Rivers of Steel attractions
that showcase the artistry and innovation of our region’s rich heritage.